OpenSearch 2.10+ Discover Tool Issues

Versions:
2.11, deployed and hosted by Amazon.
Issues seen in Chromium based browsers (Issues apply to all I have tested)

Describe the issue:
For a bit of background, I am a Senior Test Manager. We use OpenSearch via Amazon to view the logs for our services running in AWS. Being able to view logs to track down issues is very important to us. We updated one of our environments from 2.9.0 to 2.11.0, and have found the UI changes introduced in 2.10.0 to really hamper our ability to use the product.

I did not feel it was correct to make a thread for every single issue as there may already be bugs open for some of these that I was not able to find in my quick search. So I am going to list them all here to begin with. Its possible some of these have already been reported.

We are happy with the UI offered in 2.9.0, and its only the new one that we have had issues with. I would be happy to discuss anything listed below should more details be needed. And I apologize if it seems long. Its the QA person in me.

1. The side panel along the left of the screen can no longer be closed like it could in 2.9.0 and older. This is rarely used in our use case. We use it to build a view, and then we save that view. And from then on use the saved views. Being forced to have this sidebar open is taking away valuable screen space.

2. The new ‘fly out’ to inspect documents is a pretty big downgrade to the previous setup. You can no longer view multiple documents, which is a requirement for us as we use this to dig through logs and troubleshoot issues. Only being able to look at one item at a time, and having the other items be covered up makes looking through logs more tedious.