Questions about ML

Hi there ,

I beginner here , a lot of question , hope someone can give me some insight

1. The ML is based on historical data to build the model ? or the data after we click Start detector

2. The ML model is base on Sample anomaly history or Whole index data ?

3. Will the ML continue update itself or Once after first time the model is settle down

4. Currently i setup opendistro locally using by docker opendistro 1.11.0 + nginx + filebeat
    What i am try to do
    count doc number
    expected when it suddenly have huge number doc coming
    or the doc suddenly dropped
    First i provide sample logs (normally all 200 retrun)
    But seems it fail to do somehow the last two i expected it is an abnomal

5. I check youtube aws example Real-Time Anomaly Detection on Your Log Data Using Amazon Elasticsearch Service - YouTube
    seems he turn the http status it an isolated field , however in normal there should have only 1 field
    status to contains all kind of status code
    I dont see the Model level can do filter range
    is this means we need to do it detector level ?

Thanks all

Another example

Thanks for using the product and asking the questions, Vincent!

Here’s the answers to some questions.

1. ML will be based on historical data if possible. If not, it will use the data after it’s created.
  2. ML model uses some recent data. A few hundreds data points.
  3. ML is a streaming algorithm and will update to the new data.
  4. Those should be anomalies. One possible reason the detector doesn’t raise them is that it has just raised a few anomalies earlier. The expected number of anomalies is around 0.5% of all data points by design. So if there are many anomalies in a short period of time, the earlier ones are likely to identified. It is also possible that the model has seen the data from indexed data already.