Trace Analytics, a new capability in Open Distro for Elasticsearch

Hi,
I am a newbie to OpenDistro and Elasticsearch. I am using the following as guidance :- https://opendistro.github.io/for-elasticsearch/blog/releases/2020/12/announcing-trace-analytics/

Step 1: Git clone the Data Prepper github project

Step 2: Change to example trace-analytics-sample-app directory

cd Data-Prepper/examples/trace-analytics-sample-app

Step 3: Launch the docker-compose

docker-compose up -d

I expect to see the app at the following address - but get nothing:-
localhost:8089

Has anyone tested this new feature? Any tips on the same will be greatly appreciated.

:wave: Welcome @sundhar

Can you confirm that the docker containers are running?

Hey @sundhar! As Kyle mentioned, could you please check and post the log output from the sample app container? Should be something like docker logs trace-analytics-sample-app_sample-app_1

1 Like

Jeff, Kyle,
Thank you for your responses. I suspect I am currently running out of memory for my docker system. I need to get this running in a new machine with more memory. Will set up that new machine soon and let you know the results when done.

-Sundhar

I upgraded to a new machine using more RAM. The issue seems resolved - the virtual machine that I am currently running is taking 8 GIGS of ram!

Thanks for all your help and guidance.

-Sundhar

Glad to hear it! Yeah, dockerized environments are memory hungry on your desktop - although to put it in context you’re doing the work of several machines.

Can anyone explain the data flow for this sample application provided - the trace-analytics-sample-app

We have the following 6 services that docker compose brings up:

#1 data-prepper:

#2 opendistro-for-elasticsearch

#3 Kibana

#4 otel-collector

vendor-agnostic way to receive, process and export telemetry data

#5 mysql

#6 sample-app
ports:

- '8082:8082' # inventory

- '8083:8083' # database

- '8084:8084' # payment

- '8085:8085' # auth