Slow indexing performance

I moved from ELK 7.x about a month ago. So I’m still learning Opensearch. I am seeing slower indexing performance so far though. I am using Logstash with the Opensearch output plugin to push logs to Opensearch.

I see the indexing fluctuate from 1600 to 3200 EPS consistently. ELK EPS was quite a bit higher and more consistent with the same underlying setup. We create three indexes per day with only one of them being quite large. Two are around 100MB per day and the other is anywhere from 40GB to 70GB per day.

I’ve read what I can find and am not seeing how I up the EPS so far. I’m using the same index template as I did with ELK. Refresh interval is set to 5 minutes, one shard and no replicas.

I am running in docker via docker swarm. Docker compose did not perform very well. Just one Opensearch v1.3.0 node and a dashboards docker container. It is running in an AWS memory optimized instance as was ELK.

Any thoughts / tips?

thanks

2 Likes

See [BUG] Indexing Performance Degraded in OpenSearch 1.3.+ · Issue #2916 · opensearch-project/OpenSearch · GitHub. Enable G1GC and see if it helps.

1 Like

Thanks. How do I enable G1GC for the Docker version of Opensearch?

I’ve tried the below but Opensearch will not start with these as the OPENSEARCH_JAVA_OPTS in the docker-compose.yml file.

-XX:+UseG1GC -XX:InitialHeapSize=32g -XX:MaxHeapSize=32g -XX:MaxGCPauseMillis=500 -XX:+DisableExplicitGC

Got this from reading: JVM Tuning with G1 GC. A Garbage-First Garbage Collector… | by Mark Nienaber | Medium

OPENSEARCH_JAVA_OPTS is correct, you probably should try something like:

-Xms30g
-Xmx30g
-XX:-UseConcMarkSweepGC
-XX:-UseCMSInitiatingOccupancyOnly
-XX:+UseG1GC
-XX:G1ReservePercent=25
-XX:InitiatingHeapOccupancyPercent=30
2 Likes

We observed similar performance degradation while upgrading from 1.2.4 to 1.3. This OpenSearch cluster is deployed via Helm Chart on a k8s environment. We’ll try +UseG1GC .