Indexing with an IP type caused error

I have been using ELK + OD for almost 2 years. I also used template to map my data into right type. One of the columns is in IP type and it starts getting error after upgrading to OpenSearch. The error is:

[2021-06-22T09:58:28,388][WARN ][logstash.outputs.elasticsearch][csv2es][4b0c260d0d4cc87a2e2573c6915e7d31d43c8e67fba73a496b973901f6797306] Could not index event to Elasticsearch. {:status=>400, :action=>[“index”, {:_id=>nil, :_index=>“index20210622”, :_routing=>nil, :_type=>“doc”}, #LogStash::Event:0x5966a733], :response=>{“index”=>{“_index”=>“index20210622”, “_type”=>“doc”, “_id”=>“hsxwMXoBD8uHKzxEr5KM”, “status”=>400, “error”=>{“type”=>“illegal_argument_exception”, “reason”=>“mapper [client_ip] cannot be changed from type [ip] to [text]”}}}}

My template looks like this:

"mappings": {
	"properties": {
		"@timestamp": {
			"type": "date"
		},
		"client_ip": {
			"type": "text"
		}
	}
}

Is the type IP not supported in OpenSearch?

Thanks,

It seems like the document about index template at https://docs-beta.opensearch.org/opensearch/index-templates/ is inaccurate or incomplete.

For example, using the command below resulted an error:
GET _index_template/daily_logs

instead, using the one below is correct:
GET _template/daily_logs

I think I need the latest complete document about the template syntax in order to resolve this issue.

Thanks,

I don’t know of any changes like this.

What version of Open Distro were you using? Also, have you changed your version of Logstash or anything else in your setup?

I’m using OpenSearch 1.0.0-rc1 with Logstash 7.11.1. Before upgrading to OpenSearch I was using OD 1.13.1 with Logstash 7.11.1 with no such an issue, I meant, the template works fine with no error in Logstash log.

This sounds similar to: [BUG] Logstash cannot submit events to OpenSearch since version change · Issue #667 · opensearch-project/OpenSearch · GitHub