How to configure the opensearch cluster with self signed certificates step by step

Versions (relevant - OpenSearch/Dashboard/Server OS/Browser):

Opensearch version 2.8.0

Describe the issue:

Hi Team, Hope you are all doing good
Can you please give me a overall step by step process on how to implement a self signed certificate within the opensearch cluster and opensearch dashboard.
Currently its running with http set to false and I want to enable it.

Thank you for the help

Hi @raj1209 , Have checked this: Configuring TLS certificates - OpenSearch documentation

hi @Mantas Thank you for the documentation
I’m new to concept of configuring TLS on cluster level.

My cluster consists of 4 hot node and 1 warm and 1 master node

Scenario :

I have an scenario where I have to receive logs from Logstash ( which is at different AWS account ) and send it directly to our opensearch cluster with TLS

So I have copied the root certificate to logstash output and to receive in one of the hot nodes in cluster
for that hot node ( example hot node 2 ) to receive encrypted logs, this setting must be true
plugins.security.ssl.http.enabled: true.

if this setting is enabled only on hot node 2 sometimes the cluster formation fails.
and I presume this setting activates both REST and Transport layer as well
I want one of the hot node to receive from logstash securely and is it possible to run the cluster without encrypted node to node communication ?

if its not possible, I have certain doubts while creating and configuring certificates
in all nodes

Lets say
I have 4 nodes
Hot node 1 - host name : node1.example.com
hot node 2 - host name : node2.example.com
Hot node 3 - host name : node3.example.com
hot node 4 - host name : node4.example.com

I am using openssl to generate certificates of root, node and client certificate.

on hot node 1, I have been generating all this certificate as shown in documentation.

Step 1: This command generates root-ca-key.pem